Just checking in

I’m just writing because I needed to express how humbled I feel inside right now.  I attended a Leadership Conference today at my church and went over the strategies for our different ministry departments for the year 2012.  It was enlightening and life changing.  Then I come home and log into my Yahoo account and see that there was an active discussion going on about recovery from eating disorders.  I immediately joined in and began sharing my story of recovery from an addiction.

The responses were overwhelming.  I had never shared my testimony online like that before but it was amazing to see how people respond to a message of hope.  Sometimes all we need to hear when we’re down is a kind word of hope.  Something that motivates us and prompts us to believe that if that person can get better, then so can I.  I choose to believe that there is nothing too hard for God and a made up mind.  If you request the help of God coupled with a sincere desire to be delivered from ‘anything’, you can be delivered.  It will take some work and some tear stained cheeks but nothing worthwhile comes easy. If you’re willing to roll up your sleeves and put quality time between you and your addiction, bad habit or disorder, you will see beautiful changes, one day at a time.  Weeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morning!

I’m just checking in.

Leave a Reply

