I Am My Sister’s Keeper

I Am My Sister's Keeper

In December of 2012 I organized a writing group for interested women who were either published, unpublished, or aspiring writers.

It started off with a couple of highly motivated ladies meeting at Starbucks over cups of flavored lattes, peppermint mocha Frappuccinos and slices of buttery delicious pound cake.

We would bring our laptops, our note pads, our iphones and ipads but none of this modern technology compared to the frequency of expectation in our hearts.

Last night we met in my home (because we have outgrown Starbuck’s in our West Texas town) and the energy that generated from our time of sharing, reading, planning, and laughing was unlike anything I’ve experienced.

I believe the reason our group is so successful is because 1) We all genuinely have a deep love and respect for God and each other, 2) We genuinely love the writing craft, 3) We share a wealth of information pertinent to this business and 4) We have become accountable to each other, making sure we equally thrive and strive to accomplish our goals.

In essence, we have become each others keepers. Having someone in your corner pushing, motivating and encouraging you to be the writer God designed you to be, is a powerful force. I am my writing sister’s keeper and she is mine and together we will change the course of this world with one of the greatest tools given to man. The written word.

We were born to write!

Leave a Reply

