To All You “WriteAholics”

Okay, this is insanity, I must admit it myself.

Today is the National Day of Unplugging, Sabbath Manifesto, take a break from all our trinkets, gadgets, computers, iphones, ipads, etc.

March 1-2, 2013 is the National Day of Unplugging, designed to help hyper-connected people of all backgrounds to embrace the ancient ritual of a day of rest.

But am I resting? Of course not! I’m online right now (in bed) typing this blog!writing in bed

I feel slightly addicted to this craft. I spend an X amount of hours per day (I choose not to disclose) writing, blogging, reading, writing, cooking dinner somewhere in there, oh yea, I take my kids to school and pick them up everyday.

Now, I do pray and make sure to make time for my Father because it is Him who gives me the ability and the inspiration. I also take a moment to cuddle and embrace my husband every night when he gets home from work, but as soon as he and the kids are asleep, I’m at it again, writing!

I did not succeed at honoring this day of unplugging, but perhaps I will next year. I look at it this way, the more you do something, the better you become. My mother used to tell me that practice makes perfect and finally I believe as Isaac Asimov best stated, “I write for the same reason I breathe – because if I didn’t, I would die.”

“Hi, my name is Toni, and I’m a WriteAholic!”

3 thoughts on “To All You “WriteAholics”

  1. Yes, I’m plugged in on a daily basis…work, play, the word of God…

    Is it really possible to unplug in this season of life? 😉

    1. It’s very difficult, that’s for sure. Everything has gone digital. But I did tell my children that one day I would like to turn everything ‘off’ and sit by the fireplace and read books together. Or play old fashioned board games, or have a ‘day outdoors’ with walks, picnics, sightseeing, etc. It will be painful to leave my cell at home but I’m going to try it, just not sure when LOL

  2. Hi, Toni! It’s nice to meet another WriteAholic. 🙂 I unplug by relaxing and reading a paper book. Yes, I’m one of the few readers in the world who hasn’t purchased a Kindle or a Nook. 🙂

Leave a Reply

