Gay Marriage and God (Proposition 8)

Proposition 8 opposers with gay flagsThis is not a pretty subject but most controversial topics aren’t.

Today you will get to see the feisty side of me. Are you ready?

Peer pressure can be a deadly thing. It does not just affect our children in grade schools or our young adults in college. It affects older adults in every aspect of life; the social arena, the political and even spiritual arena.

Peer pressure is everywhere!

I am amazed at how many people are succumbing to the idea of legalizing gay marriages and how few Christians are making radical stands for the God we serve and the Bible we claim to read daily.

Our political and yes, some of our religious leaders are altering their stand for the sake of what? Peace? Acceptance? Popularity? Votes?

What and who are they afraid of? Why are people afraid to admit that they still uphold God’s word and will not waiver concerning homosexuality in our society?

And in case you think I am being too harsh or judgmental regarding this current issue. . . I was touched by this lifestyle and lived it hypocritically for many years until I began searching for the truth and ran right into the arms of Jesus who radically changed my life, forever.

So today, I am not biased, just persuaded that the word of God is the only authority in our universe and any law, ruling or government outside of God will cause this nation to utterly fall.

Proverbs 14:13 says, “Righteousness exalts a nation: but sin is a reproach to any people.” Reproach means to bring shame or disgrace upon.

I want to share some interesting excerpts and quotes.

ONE: “The Christian homosexual position when carefully examined can be exposed for what it is at its very core: an attack upon the integrity, sufficiency, and authority of Scripture, which for the Christian church is an attack upon the very nature of our Holy God.” -Issues in Sexual Ethics, United Church of Christ, 1979

TWO: “I firmly believe that we cannot tolerate discrimination against any individuals or groups in our country. I appreciate so much your encouraging me to help change attitudes.” -Former First Lady Barbara Bush, 1990 letter to the Parents and Friends of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG)

THREE: “So there you have it. This ecclesiastical phoenix rising from the ashes of Sodom. It cannot, will not be ignored. The heterosexual Christian is now forced to declare himself and reaffirm or disregard his beliefs about what the Scriptures teach.” -Paul Morris, Ph.D., “Shadow of Sodom”

FOUR: “Nobody sat down and conspired to create the problems our society faces. They were simply allowed to happen.” -Rabbi Daniel Lapin

FIVE: “The church must be reminded that it is not the master or servant of the state, but rather the conscience of the state.” -Martin Luther King

SIX: “I support it personally and as a matter of policy and law, embedded in a broader effort to advance equality and opportunity for LGBT Americans and all Americans.” Hilary Rodham Clinton 2013

So in light of Proposition 8, societal and political viewpoints and the conviction of the Christian church, what do you think? Is it right, legal, lawful, permissible, acceptable and honorable in the sight of God for 2 people of the same sex to get married? Is it?

Please submit comments.

Love,
Toni

4 thoughts on “Gay Marriage and God (Proposition 8)

  1. Hey Toni, I was going to be one of those Christians who just kept her mouth closed, but the couple I watched on tv the other night said they wanted to marry in order to adopt a child and be a real family. That’s when I came to my senses. A man, a woman, and a child is a REAL family because they can have children naturally. They don’t go into marriage hoping t adopt. I just wonder when kids see same sex parents being intimate, do they truly understand homosexuality. Hope they don’t choose this learned behavior because it’s always in front of them.

    1. Hey Linda, thank you for your comment. When I was in my gay relationship, my children were very little, newborn and three years old. Although I thought I was “proud” enough to live that life, secretly I never wanted to display it before my children. I just wanted them to think I had a roommate. I never did admit to being gay to my children when they got older and I thank God I came out of the lifestyle before it could do any potential harm in the way of confusing them about family and relationships. I have very STRONG feelings and opinions about the gay life now that I’m free (because of Jesus, of course). But the bottom line is that God is God, his word will Never change, either we accept his law regarding homosexuality or suffer the consequences of our choices. Girl, this thing is so deep I could go on and on, but hopefully you can get my book when it comes out. It’s titled, The Two Faces of A Preacher’s Wife. I talk about my struggle with lesbian tendencies while being married to a preacher, how I gave into them, got a divorce and then how God intercepted MY plan. I’m so glad he did! God bless you Linda and always stand up for what you believe. Everybody else does, LOL

  2. No, I personally don’t believe it’s right for two ppl of the same sex to marry. Do I discriminate against those who are homosexual, no…I have friends who practice what is known as an alternative lifestyle. But, because I’m friends ans love these individuals don’t mean I unhold what I believe is Biblically wrong. I believe we need to teach what’s biblucally correct, love & pray for all without a respect of person.

    1. Hi Karen:
      I’m sorry it took me a couple of days to respond to your comment, I’ve been busy with school programs and activities with my children. But I thank you and I just want to elaborate a little on what you said. You are absolutely right that we are to love everyone because God loves us all, however, when it comes to blatant sin, our responsibility as Christians or concerned family and friends, is to tell the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth, IN LOVE! Real love tells the truth. Because I love my children, I am totally honest with them about what they may be doing that’s not right and could possibly hurt them in their future. I tell them the truth, then I wrap my arms around them and love them through it, trusting that one day they will figure it out and make changes accordingly. God loves us enough to tell us the truth about sin (in his word) even if it hurts. But I would rather get my feelings hurt today and get over it, then to lose my soul in hell, for eternity. I was once in the gay lifestyle and my church family loved me all the way to restoration, good mental health, and freedom through sincere love and honesty! Today, I’m grateful!

Leave a Reply

