Jazz, Kansas City Style

TGIF!

All I want to do tonight is jam. I’m sitting at my computer (on YouTube) listening to some of the best jazz music ever recorded (jazz is one of my favorite genres) and missing Kansas City so bad, I could cry.

My family moved here in July of last year and it’s been a little tough getting adjusted to West Texas. We don’t have any local jazz clubs in this city 😦

One of the things I miss the most is the many options for entertainment Kansas City has to offer. From the Country Club Plaza, an American upscale shopping district and residential neighborhood, to the Kansas City Power and Light District, with more than 50 unique shops, restaurants, bars, etc., it is the mid-west’s premier entertainment epicenter. And I can’t forget about the Historic 18th & Vine Jazz District, which is internationally recognized as one of the cradles of jazz.

My husband and I would get dressed in our casual attire on the weekends and head to the district for some soul-satisfying, make-you-feel-good, saxophone, bass, keyboard and drum, lovin’. I even got to play drums with one of the local bands one evening (I’ve been playing drums since I was 13 yrs old). We had an old-fashioned jam session under the stars. I was on cloud nine and could have floated away forevermore!

Oh how I miss those weekends!

The song I’m sharing tonight reminds me of one of my favorite places in the Jazz District of Kansas City called the Blue Room, where they have live local and guest bands entertaining the middle-aged crowd six days a week, Tuesday-Sunday.

This song is for you Kansas City, I miss you dearly.
Wayman Tisdale performing, Rebound

Love,
Toni

Leave a Reply

